Gilgit Baltistan

Overview of Gilgit-Baltistan



Heavenly Blessed Land

Gilgit-Baltistan is one of the most beautiful and charming areas in the north of Pakistan. These areas are spread over a vast area of about 72494 square kilometers. And it consists of the districts of Hunza, Astor, Gilgit, Ghazar, Diamir, Skardu, and Ghanche. Gilgit is the capital of Gilgit-Baltistan province. On November 1, 1947, the people here threw off the yoke of the long slavery of the Maharaja of Kashmir without any external help. On November 16, 1947, the government of Pakistan, through the political agent Sardar Muhammad Alam Khan, took over the area as per the wishes of the people there. While the region of Baltistan gained independence on August 14, 1948. These regions, ranging from about 4,000 to 25,000 feet above sea level, are internationally renowned for their towering giant mountains, towering peaks, lush glitters, and rugged and beautiful valleys. And have been inviting scientists, tourists, and climbers for a long time. The Deosai Plain is the second-highest plateau in Asia after the Pamir Plateau in the north. The famous mountain peaks of the world 2-K (28250 feet high second highest peak in the world) Nanga Parbat 26607 high, and Ra Ka Poshi (25550 feet high) are found in these areas. Among the major glaciers here are Siachen, Baltu Roo, Chu Khosugam, Rimengho, and Bayanu in Baltistan and Haspar Glacier in the Gilgit district. There are also several important mountain passes in these areas. Among them Babusar, Barzal Qumri (Dia Mir), Karakoram, Matagh, Choor Bat, Zojila, Saturo, Thale, Alam.Li Bakhund and Bar Al-Dur Bash (Bulistan), Masir Irshad, Kalk Muslimah Punjab, Shamshal (Gilgit), and Kurd Mabar, Brokal, and Makkadar passes of Nazar district are of important geographical importance. It is the region that connects the two great powers of Asia, Pakistan, and China, and separates Russia and India from each other. The geographical importance of this region can also be estimated from the fact that Hunza is called where three empires meet. In the extreme north of Hunza, the borders of China, Russia, and British India met. Also remembered as the end of the world and the Winterland of Asia. Now this region is called the Center of the world because these five countries are China, India, Tajikistan,

Afghanistan and Pakistan are connected. Monsoon rains do not occur in northern regions. The area of natural forests is four percent of the total area. The weather here is hot in summer and very cold in winter. The hottest month is July and the coldest month is January. Ghazhar District, Skardu District, Ganche, Astor District, and Bandu Agar District also get a good amount of snow in mountains as well as low valleys. This snow melts and floods the Indus River through the rivers in the summer season

It causes Apart from high mountains, rivers, streams, forests, and glaciers, nature has blessed these regions with beautiful valleys and lakes. The famous lakes of Upper Kachora, Lower Kachora (Shangrela), Sadpara Nazar, Shandur, Deosai, Phandar, Rama, Goi Sarkon (Bojhi), Katwal (Haramush), Gaso (City Jaglot), Gina, Gul Afanturi, Bor Thay (Gulamt Hunza) are famous for their beauty and It is notable for its spectacular scenery. Ferry Meadows in Chilas and Sails in Tangier are also world-famous for their beauty. The best season for tourism is from May to the end of October. But on the higher passes the snow does not melt completely before June. Therefore, there may be difficulties in hiking and trekking in some places. The major rivers in these areas include the Sindh, Shivak, Shukar, Astor, Hunza, and Gilgit. All the rivers and streams of the region merge into the Indus River. Pakistan’s agricultural economy and energy system are largely dependent on the Indus River. There are hot and cold water springs in many places of Baltistan, the Kingdom, and Dia Mir. People use their water as a treatment for various diseases and are cured. Raikot is famous for Idals (houses) and Burst, Damas Punyal, Gir and Shajar, Darkot, and Murtazaabad (Banza) on the steep hill of the Chilas. There are currently four National Parks in Gilgit-Baltistan Province, including Deosai National Park, Handrab/Shir Dar Rational Park, Banjara National Park, and Central Karakoram Michel Park.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *